Today The Forest Guard Chronicles is pleased to present you the first in a very special series, Confessions of an AdDekkt. If you are reading this, you are most likely an AdDekkt, also. We hope through these honest, open essays you are able to come to terms with your problem and take the necessary steps to breaking this habit. Dive deep.

CONFESSIONS OF AN ADDEKT (STEP 1):
Admitting Your Problem

My name is Phenomenal, and I have a problem. You see, I’m a story junkie. I love a good novel, whether it be fantasy or mystery or suspense. But I receive no greater thrill than feeling the pages of a Dekker novel gliding between my fingers, my mind absorbing every single word and sentence. I’m addicted, I admit. It takes alot for me to openly admit it, but I AM a Dekker addict. But first, allow me tell you a little bit about myself.

I was born a Blessed Child in Paradise, CO, but I was Chosen and have grown into a Man Called Blessed. I count in Thr3e‘s and I view the world in four colors (Black, Red, White, and Green). My life occurs in the Blink of an Eye and I am trapped within my own Skin. I sing The Martyr’s Song, and I cry When Heaven Weeps. Some call me a Lunatic. Others call me Infidel. I say I’m just Obsessed. Things may be worse than Chaos, heavier than Thunder of Heaven, in my life but I hold onto my Savior, Elyon, and I dwell in His House. I’m no Saint. I know I’m a Sinner, but I’ll never go Renegade. Heaven’s Wager is on my soul, as well as yours, and the Showdown nears… (Did I mention I’ve never Kissed a guy named Adam, and my sister is BoneMan’s Daughter? ;P)

Now that you know about me, I can tell you about this spiral into adDekktion I find myself in now. It all started a few years back when I decided to pick up a book called House. I had read some of Peretti’s stuff since I was in fifth grade and I really enjoyed his stuff, so I took a gamble at this co-authored book. It was decent. That led to picking up the book Thr3e for a dollar. Ironically, I got much more than 3-for-1. Then one of my teachers in high school at that time, who happened to also be an AdDekkt, gave me Showdown as a gift randomly. It’s all History from there, quite literally.

Skip a year or four, now I have an entire blog devoted to the Man Behind the Mask. I also have a secret shrine devoted to him that nobody’s supposed to know about… *cough cough*

Photo0026.jpg picture by mister_phenomenal

Photo0029.jpg picture by mister_phenomenal

I see Roush and Shataiki around every corner. I tremble in the presence of Noxzema. And I attack anybody in a black trench coat, fearing they may be Marsuvees Black.

I drink Green Water, a much better alternative to soda, milk, or even regular water. Sometimes I like to trip on Grace Juice too.

I made flyers and voted for Ted in a student-body election at my school.

100_0790.jpg picture by mister_phenomenal

I even have my own Book of History I stole from David Abraham. In fact, I almost made it to Other-Earth.

See, these are just some of the few signs that led me to believe I was an AdDekkt. I, like you, was in denial at first, but I have come to understand the nature of this unnatural thirst for all things Dekker. Now is the time for you to take your first step toward recovery and openly admit you’re an AdDekkt. Leave a comment or email us at ScribesofOE@gmail.com, telling us about your adDekktion. We might even feature it on the blog.

Stay tuned for the continuation of the Confession series next Wednesday!